And So It Begins…

Greetings. My name is Christopher McDonald, I have started this blog to try to organize some of my own thoughts and reflections on a variety of problems, topics and persons.

Why have I called this blog “millenial conservator?” I am a member of the Millenial Generation, those born between about 1984 and 2000, since I was born at the end of 1984 I am a Millenial. The term ‘conservator’ will doubtless raise some questions.

What is a conservator? Simply put, it is a person who is part of and defends the Great Traditions of the West. The conservator, or conservative, is one who prefers the wisdom of the ages to the ‘knowledge’ of today. The true conservative trusts the “bank and capital of ages and nations” rather than their own ‘small, private stock and reason,’ or that of those around him. As an aspiring defender of the West and its greatest traditions I am taking up the old term ‘conservator’ to show where I stand.

In this blog I intend to produce at least one post a week. I’ll cover a wide variety of topics, depending on what I’m reading or what strikes me as an appropriate subject. In time I will produce a series of profiles in conservative thought. Thinkers such as Edmund Burke, John Adams, Orestes Brownson, Irving Babbitt, Richard Weaver and Russel Kirk are among the men I’d like to discuss. Subjects in religion, theology, current events and philosophy are also in the running.

There is a need among my generation for guidance. What I will try is to point the way to the great minds, ideas and figures who have provided guidance for past generations and are able to provide guidance for today.

In closing I will quote the medieval churchman Bernard of Chartres, “We  are like dwarves perched on the shoulders of giants, and thus we are able to see more and farther than the latter. And this is not at all because of the acuteness of our sight or the stature of our body, but because we are carried aloft and elevated by the magnitude of the giants”

 

Soli Deo Gloria.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

